The Exile Files

Raging Against the Outrageous. Laughter and Insanity Abound.

Bargain Basement

Posted by Exile on February 16, 2008

I went shopping today. Not just any old shopping. My tobacconist is moving the business to a new address where two businesses will be amalgamated into one. The excess stock has to go. Including some very nice and very valuable pipes. Armed to the teeth with my trusty credit card, I drove into the heart of Copenhagen, determined to find that certain something that will afford me a great deal of pleasure.

My pipe collection has grown larger during the past few months, so I am not in direct need of a new pipe. My birthday and Christmas brought riches beyond my desires and I am not one to just dash off and buy a new pipe, but occasionally circumstances outweigh commonsense. This was one of those occasions.

Here’s a quick resumé of my luck going back to mid November.

styp2007.jpgMy wife, bless her, bought me a pipe on my birthday in November. A Stanwell pipe of the year from 2006. A lovely little pipe, reminiscent of a Rhodesian cut. Light and easy to hold in the mouth or the hand, it is a lovely pipe. She got it at half price because the shop was discontinuing its business with pipes and tobaccos. Which is unfortunate for me as a customer, but fortunate for me as a collector.

petyp2006.jpgI had to go and see what was going for grabs. I found a Peterson pipe of the year, also from 2006. With a silver cap on the bowl and a ring on the shank, I couldn’t say no to this pipe at half price. Described as a poker cut, the pipe is flat at the bottom and will stand alone on the table top. Which means you can put it down and it won’t roll away. Despite its size, it is not heavy and sits nicely between my back teeth!

stmasterpiece.jpgFor Christmas, my dear lady gave a superb pipe. A Masterpiece edition from Stanwell, hand cut by Tom Eltang. I have met Tom. He cuts all his pipes in the hand. Machining is kept to a minimum. This is a jewel of a pipe. 12 layers of laquer seal the woodwork. The pipe is flawless. It comes with a sturdy wooden presentation case, certificate of origin, cotton gloves and a pouch for transportation. Delightful!

petltded.jpgAnd so, to today. I was looking for a competitor to all the above. I found one. A Peterson again. Long neglected and, perhaps because of the price, a forgotten limited edition pipe from 2002. With a silver army mount and big enough to fill my somewhat large hand, this is a well balanced piece of elegant flamegrain briar. The boring in this pipe is gorgeous. The bowl and air shaft meet beautifully dead centre in the base of the bowl. I got it at half price. Having smoked it once, very gently, I know this is going to be one of my favourites. I have always wanted a pipe with a silver army mount.

Forgive my amateurish attempts at photographing these beautiful pieces of art and craftmanship, but I believe that a thing of beauty should be seen by all.

Four collectors pipes in three months. Who’s a lucky boy then?

One Response to “Bargain Basement”

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Aaron Wakling

Leave a Reply

 
